Happy Feet

I’m stranded in Singapore in a nice hotel. Yes I know – it’s terrible. I’m trying to be brave about it *sniff*. Actually if we don’t get a flight within the next few days we’ll be kicked out of the hotel and everywhere, even the local dog kennels are booked solid. One flight left today – going to Barcelona and it was jammed.

But what I really want to write about is the fabulousness of foot massage – once you get over the pain. This sounds a bit S&M but . . (ooh I must just tell you about the Fish. You can go to these spas in Singapore and sit with your feet – basically in a fish tank and they swarm around your feet and nibble away at the dead skin. A bit like aquatic maggots. Apparently they leave the healthy skin alone but since the fish haven’t put that in writing we only have the spa owners word for it). No I haven’t tried it – I’ve got ticklish feet. But I did have reflexology with the world’s angriest therapist. He pushed and thumped at my feet snarling: You walk a lot! Foot stiff! I gritted my teeth which made him push harder. Crack crack. I watched as he twisted my feet into origami. I was too scared to protest. But afterwards my feet were like two pads of air.

And tomorrow I’ll be telling you all about the durian – a fruit which smells like rotting flesh and which the Singaporians like to eat in pancakes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Feet

  1. Hmmm tempting. The thing that worries me is that I have *extremely* ticklish feet and I am not sure that I could contain the urge to squirm and shreek. Enjoy the rest of your enforced time in SingaporeHannah

    Like

Leave a Reply

