Eat Pray Procrastinate

It’s me again – not working. So this morning I was allowing myself the usual faff time before settling down to wrestle with the script that I’m growing to HATE with every fibre of my being (it’s supposed to be a comedy – it’s not funny – or maybe I’ve just been looking at it for too long – I want to strangle myself etc) and I watched the trailer of Eat Pray Love. Now I love Julia Roberts. I think she’s a really good actress as well as being gorgeous in an individual way. She brings a zingy freshness to her roles. And I admire how she took time to step back and bring up her family. Yes I know it’s easy to do when you have tons of money but still, I admire her for stepping back while she was at the top.

But despite all this I think I’m going to hate Eat Pray Love. Based unreasonably on the trailer:

1. I hate it when Hollywood tries to understand women.
2. The brief scene when the heroine is in Italy and gasp – eats a plate of pasta. Oh I get it. She’s so outrageous – she eats carbs! Wow that’s really finding yourself.
3. And cake – she eats cake! Carbtastic!
4. On her journey across an astonishingly poverty free India and Bali, while eating carbs and finding herself she meets a rough hewn man. He doesn’t shave and looks like he’s no stranger to garlic. And he’s Javier Bardem.

The End (I bet)

I’ll probably still see it though.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

